My Review of Roku 2 HD Streaming Player

Originally submitted at Roku

Simply the best value in high-definition streaming.

Lots of content, little package

By Ravel from Albuquerque, NM on 1/26/2012

 

4out of 5

Pros: Reliability, Easy to use, High quality picture, Built in Wi-Fi, Compact, Great value, Easy to set up

Cons: Want more video choices, Inconsistent performance

Best Uses: Secondary TV, Living room, Primary TV

Describe Yourself: Netflix fan, Early adopter, Movie buff, Home entertainment enthusiast

I use the product as my main source of TV. I have recently got rid of cable and thought this would be the best alternative. Its hooked up to my HDTV in my living room. I have Pandora, Netflix and Hulu Plus subscriptions and I also follow many Revision3, TWiT, CNeT and Blip.tv shows. Having access to all of those in one place straight to my TV is awesome. The setup was super simple and quick. The sound and video quality is great. One complaint I have is with the remote: I sometimes have to press a button two or three times to get a response, even when pointing it directly at the box. Another complaint I have is with the content providers and not Roku, not all channels stream all the content available on a Web Browser and some channel interfaces don’t take advantage of what Roku has to offer, like the options button on the remote.
Over all, its a great value and perfect for a user like me who would rather watch movies and internet videos over live sports.

(legalese)

Leave a Reply

